giant’s wife, 12/21

I honestly don’t know if there is a story with that title. A quick glance at Amazon and wikipedia reveal nothing, but a lot of people appear to do searches for it and find my blog. Strange.

Jacey, a bond servant in Ketekey, is freed during a Targoian raid and captured by them. While in camp, she catches the eye of the famous commander, Heddwyn Borut, who at first takes her as a slave. Just before she is to be sent back to Targo City to be sold,  Commander Borut proposes to marry her and, for some crazy reason, she accepts this man.

Unbeknown to her at the time, Commander Borut only proposes because he desires to keep himself from a marriage with a lord’s daughter. Moreover, he carries a lot of pain and guilt with him that hasn’t left him for ten years. Outwardly levelheaded, inwardly he is constantly tormented by the past. A torment that he doubts will ever end.

***

I will admit that I have not seriously edited this story you about about to read. The time is off, so if that throws you, I just haven’t gone through it and fixed them all. I more wrote this because it was suppose to be a short story until I figured out everything with my next novel. As it turned out, it was quite a bit longer than that.

I also wrote this not with much in mind about doing much with this afterwards. Sure, its an interesting concept, but I stink at writing love stories and that is basically what this is.

That all being said, I hope you enjoy it.  I shall try to remember to post a section a day and will maintain it off to the side of the page as well.

And now, The Giant’s Wife.

Tags: , ,

About Abigail

I'm an elementary education major at a college in the Midwest. I might graduate as early as December '13 but more likely May '14. I write when I can. I also knit on occasion, draw, do homework and contradict teachers to make people think. :)

Leave a Reply

