how did that happen?

My logic is to writing is write fast, edit later. When I write like that, I usually get whole paragraphs where I just repeated what I wrote in the previous two paragraphs. Utterly boring and unnecessary. Thus, when I write something I can usually count on lose some pages (or words, depending on how you count it) from my original count.

So when Kontyo came out at around 20 pages and 11,000 words, I was rather happy. (I’m aiming for less than 17,000 because I’m hoping to enter Kontyo also into the writer’s of the future contest. I was also hoping to do that with Giant’s Wife, before it came out at 46,000 words.)

Since I finished it yesterday, I did the final touch ups today (well, probably not totally final, but it’s practically done.). Then, I did another word count and it comes out at not less than 11,000 words but at 12,000 words and 25 pages! This is suppose to be a short story.

Now, I’m not sure what is exactly short. For the library’s writing contest in MN, they wanted about ten pages in the beginning. When they actually put a limit on pages, they put it at about 7. But this contest at school doesn’t have a limit, a topic, or anything, and it is driving me crazy, because I don’t know if this is technically write, and their tougher on grammar here I would think as well.

My harder part comes from finding a title now. I have a clue about something with darkness swallowing up people or disappearing in darkness or something. Maybe I’ll just post it anyway, but I need a title sooner rather than later. Contest ends January 31st and I’d rather submit it no later than the 12th. Who knows what kind of homework I’m going to have by then.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Abigail

I'm an elementary education major at a college in the Midwest. I might graduate as early as December '13 but more likely May '14. I write when I can. I also knit on occasion, draw, do homework and contradict teachers to make people think. :)

3 responses to “how did that happen?”

  1. uninvoked says :

    There are lots of ways you can cut words too. You can usually delete words ending in “ly” and the story comes out stronger for it. Also look out for adding unnecessary details. I remember a sentence from ann article on writing I read way long time ago that went something like,

    “The bride carried a bouquet of flowers. Cut ‘of flowers’ and save yourself two words. After all, she’s not carrying a bouquet of sausages is she? The reader will be able to guess.”

  2. 10% rule says :

    Many writers cherich the 10% rule; after letting the first draft rest, go through it again and cut 10% out. It’s actually not as crazy as it sounds. The reader is generally smarter than we tend to think while writing.

  3. Abigail says :

    I actually think I am pretty good at cutting out words. I question pretty much every word that is down, which is why I sometimes cut out whole paragraphs, even when I like it. (There’s a skill that must be learned, to be quite honest.)

    I’m not sure if the size of the story is a problem even. That part is my complaint. It startled me that it is so long. I must admit that I have never heard of the 10% rule. I will have to remember that.

Leave a Reply

