naming characters

How do you name a character a unique name? Well, if a name doesn’t pop out at me, I go to my absolutely favorite website for names and either look up a general meaning in the name or use the random name generator. Because I like this website so much, I shall share it with you. Behind the name . com. I also ended up learning a lot of name prefixes and such, which is really awesome.

I will tell you that some of the names aren’t perfectly defined. They define my name  (Abigail) as “My father is joy” where as it means “My father’s joy” but minor technicalities.

This is also really great if you want the names to all sound similar in a story. In one story, I have Knntyo and Felix as brothers. That just doesn’t sound that likely. But having Avigayla and Keanu (both Hawaiian names) that actually sounds rather awesome.

Tags: , , ,

About Abigail

I'm an elementary education major at a college in the Midwest. I might graduate as early as December '13 but more likely May '14. I write when I can. I also knit on occasion, draw, do homework and contradict teachers to make people think. :)

2 responses to “naming characters”

  1. Cassandra Jade says :

    I think it is more about finding names that really fit the characters, rather than worrying about whether the name is unique. Thanks for the link. It will definitely be useful down the line.

Leave a Reply

