dumped with cold water

There are been a few times when something as happened and I get so nervous that someone is going to find out something that it feels like someone dumped cold water on me. You know that saying. We use it a lot in writing. But I didn’t realize until how what it felt like.

See, it’s not really cold water per se. It’s more like warm water, like the whole enter weight of something warm and soft still fell on you, but your heart stopped at the same time as you wait to find out if what is happening is either what you fear or what not.  Then, you find out everything is okay, and you slowly relax again and go back to feeling normal.

The thing here though is that it wasn’t cold water, although cold water make sense. It was warm water. I’m not sure if it is important or even if that should be incorporated into my writing. It’s just interesting.

It’s interesting like the time when I got my wind knocked out of me after falling out of a swing. It is literally getting the air knocked out of you and you have to inflated your lungs with air again. (Also, as a note for anyone who has not fallen out of a swing or some other similarly large structure, there is a very strong desire to urinate afterwards.) Anyway, it is a literal gasp.

Just interesting observations with life.  I wonder how many of those observations are important or not important. Does anyone even care?

Tags: , , , , ,

About Abigail

I'm an elementary education major at a college in the Midwest. I might graduate as early as December '13 but more likely May '14. I write when I can. I also knit on occasion, draw, do homework and contradict teachers to make people think. :)

Leave a Reply

