cutting words

Yesterday I spent a good hour writing blog posts and summarize topics I want to blog about later. My goal was to write up the posts last night but, I studied late, didn’t finish dinner until late then, and realized I had a scholarship to write that is due today. (I know. Brilliant on my part.)

The scholarship wants us to write a 250 word essay about why I chose a career in nursing. So I figured it would be about a five paragraph essay, I wrote lots of those in highschool, so I would just write it like that. I outlined it, summed up my points and wrote.

First word count: 566 words.

So, I went through it, editing it as I went and came out with my second draft. Word count: 500.

I ended up cutting out almost everything I could, to the point that I barely have my typical five paragraph essay, to get to a grand total of 263 words. I figure that close enough, I can’t cut anything else, so I’m done.

I will tell you it is the hardest thing in the world to cute something down from 566 words to 263 words. I wish it could be better. I almost wish that I decided to write a poem instead, so I could say more. There is so much more than what I said in my essay about why i chose nursing. But some of it I don’t know how to explain. How do I explain that I partly went into nursing because, if I was needed to, I could go overseas and help? Or that I could become a midwife maybe someday? Or that I want to teach people?

I can’t say to be honest how to cut words. I know now to look for phrases that can be described in smaller words and prepositions. And try not to save it for the last minute. You would think I would have learned by now, don’t you?

Tags: , , , ,

About Abigail

I'm an elementary education major at a college in the Midwest. I might graduate as early as December '13 but more likely May '14. I write when I can. I also knit on occasion, draw, do homework and contradict teachers to make people think. :)

Leave a Reply

