humor

I don’t write humor stories for obvious reasons. It’s not that I’m not funny or I don’t live in a funny house. I actually think sometimes that they could (almost) make our house into a reality TV show, minus the serious discussions we have, because we are funny. (not that I watch reality TV either.)

My dad and one brother are naturally funny and my other brother developed a good enough sense of humor that he is also funny, plus, we have hundreds of inside jokes that make it even more funny for us. (Although I think one of the greatest things to say is something like, “Mom, you know, if someone who did not understand our communication dynamics would have been seriously bothered by that comment.”)

IN spite of all this, I don’t write humor. I can’t really figure out how.

Oh, sure, I add in a few humorous comments now and again. But really humorous stories that just make you laugh and laugh are impossible for me. Then again, I have a very abstract form of humor too.

It’s not that I don’t want to write them either. I have this really funny story inside my head that involves a new writer writing something and suddenly having her characters pop out of nowhere and give her comments or advice or anything about her story. I just haven’t gotten around to writing that yet. I just don’t know quite how.

Then, my blog posts aren’t funny, as you obviously know. I go for more of the serious route I suppose.  I guess not that many funny things happen to me.

Problem is it gets me so jealous of people who can write funny things. I was reading a blog (instead of doing homework or writing. I know. Bad Abigail.) and it was just so funny.

Because of that, I’m going to share it with you. And because it’s my favorite comic strip. Actually, It’s the only comic strip I read. It’s called Pearls before Swine. And his blog is really funny.  And technically, he is a writer too.

But now, after reading almost all of the last month’s posts, my writing is starting to take on his type of writing. That isn’t good.

Or maybe it is. It would add humor to what I say.

Tags: , , , ,

About Abigail

I'm an elementary education major at a college in the Midwest. I might graduate as early as December '13 but more likely May '14. I write when I can. I also knit on occasion, draw, do homework and contradict teachers to make people think. :)

4 responses to “humor”

  1. Greg says :

    If you’ve got some ideas for funny scenes, why don’t you sketch those through and then think about connecting them together at a later time? Just a thought.

  2. jojopant says :

    greg is right…….. put all your funny thoughts on a blank page with that blinking cursor, and i’m sure u’ll put them together in something wonderful……….. or u cud take all ur funny thoughts and mingle them with the little funny story u have in mind…….And as a bonus u cud put in a few of ur family jokes if they r not too personal, as a part of the story!

    what say?

    • Abigail says :

      I say I don’t have anything funny enough for even that. Not really. And my sense of humor is someone would need to get used to–shall we say? It’s not a very typical sense of a humor.

  3. jojopant says :

    I don’t think there is anything known as a typical sense of humour. everyone has a different sense of humour. And i would love to know yours. :)

Leave a Reply

