other types of stories

When I was much younger, my brother decided (on several occasions actually) to draw a comic strip. I had to compete with him so I tried to draw my own, failed miserably,  and never really got the hang of comics. (This was also before I get better at drawing.)  And since I only read one comic out there as it is (Pearls before Swine) I can’t follow comics very well.

However, that doesn’t mean that comics aren’t another way to tell stories. The difference is there is more dialogue and a lot less description. I also think it would be harder to tell the backstory . (Because, although highly not recommended, you can always do an info dump in a book and be done with it. You do know what an info dump is, right? I don’t remember how I came to know that word so… new writers out there might not.) On the other hand, you have character pictures to show what they look like and what is going on, so action scenes are seen through drawings and not through words. (Yay! because I stink at action scenes.)

I’m not saying this all because I’m planning on drawing my next story. Hardly! I would stink. I’m saying this because someone who I kinda sorta know has written one. I am so jealous of the artwork on this, I’ll admit it, but I don’t have the time to pursue another hobby right now. (Writing and school is enough, plus drawing, knitting and I’d like to learn a few languages and play guitar, way more than enough.)

So here’s the webcomic: Silver Eye. It’s kinda interesting, although I find it a little hard to follow. That just might be because I can’t see everything I’m suppose to  right away. So go look at it and read it a bit, partly because I said it might be good and partly because it’s her birthday and it’d be nice. :)

About Abigail

I'm an elementary education major at a college in the Midwest. I might graduate as early as December '13 but more likely May '14. I write when I can. I also knit on occasion, draw, do homework and contradict teachers to make people think. :)

Leave a Reply

