random searches on the internet occasionally help me find very random treasures

So I was doing a Swagbucks search in hopes of earning a few quick cents on writing advice and I found Jeffery A. Carver’s advice to aspiring authors. To be quote honest, I don’t know who this guy is. I’ve never heard of him. That being said, normally I find this interesting. I don’t know why. I suppose I like to see what other people think.

So I’m reading through and he gives the typical advice, in fact, some advice that I have given you as well. Read constantly, write constantly, pursue experience (Haven’t said that actually), write what you want, ect.

How, there were two very interesting things that I would like to point out that he said. The first thing is that if you are not driving by some passion to write, then you probably not cut out to be a professional writer. This isn’t just Carver saying this either. Take these people for example.

A writer is somebody for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.  ~Thomas Mann, Essays of Three Decades, 1947

But an author is one who can judge his own stuff’s worth, without pity, and destroy most of it.  ~Colette, Casual Chance, 1964

Having imagination, it takes you an hour to write a paragraph that, if you were unimaginative, would take you only a minute.  Or you might not write the paragraph at all.  ~Franklin P. Adams, Half a Loaf, 1927

Life can’t ever really defeat a writer who is in love with writing, for life itself is a writer’s lover until death – fascinating, cruel, lavish, warm, cold, treacherous, constant.  ~Edna Ferber, A Kind of Magic, 1963

Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout of some painful illness.  One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand.  ~George Orwell, “Why I Write,” 1947  (Thanks, Jennifer)

Writing is very hard. I know this. I have so many manuscripts from when I didn’t realize how hard writing actually was.

However, another thing that he said:

If your work is of publishable quality, sooner or later it will sell. Probably. There are no guarantees, of course. I’ve got some pieces of my own in the trunk that I thought would sell, but didn’t. But that’s what keeps us going–the belief that what we are doing is worth i

For all of us out there who wants to be published. This sounds great. However, he adds that people often THINK their work is of good, publishable quality, when, in fact, it is not.

Part of this is the maturing of a writer. I thought what I wrote when I was fifteen was great. Like, the next best thing that everyone would love and be stunned by. (Now, I’m not so proud / daydreamerish, although I do wish that was that case sometimes.) As you continue writing, your writing improves, and then slowly you start understanding more, analyzing more, and just being a better writer in general.

I posted a long time ago about how do you improve your writing or find writing support groups. And I got an answer, I talked with my, well, technical boss but she’s also an English teacher, but nothing really developed to help me.

However, I found yesterday not just one, but several writing critiquing groups on the internet for free. See, I’ve always thought that they cost money.  I joined one a while ago, but I had such a hard time figuring out things, figuring out if I can respond, and things like that that I just didn’t like it and I was so nervous.  But now, not only does it not cost money, but it solves a lot of my previous problems.

So, this is the link to the all of the writing workshop. Obviously, since I’m a science fiction writer, I have no problems with the links of SFWA  but for those of you who aren’t, well, that might prove a problem with some of them. Then, I actually decided to join Critters Workshop because it just looks like what I need. I’ll tell you all how it goes whenever I get signed up. It’ll take a day or so they claim and then a couple more weeks, but if it is as good as I hope, well, it’ll be nice, especially with summer coming. Update: I got signed up for it all within a few hours.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Abigail

I'm an elementary education major at a college in the Midwest. I might graduate as early as December '13 but more likely May '14. I write when I can. I also knit on occasion, draw, do homework and contradict teachers to make people think. :)

Leave a Reply

