Short stories versus novels.

So, with the possibility of a writing contest coming up again at school, and myself trying to write a novel, it got me thinking on this topic and I want to hear what you all think about it too.

Do you prefer to write short stories, novels or in some other format and why? Also, do you find it difficult or not to switch between two formats?

Tags: , , , , ,

About Abigail

I'm an elementary education major at a college in the Midwest. I might graduate as early as December '13 but more likely May '14. I write when I can. I also knit on occasion, draw, do homework and contradict teachers to make people think. :)

One response to “Short stories versus novels.”

  1. Abigail says :

    For myself, I like novels. The short stories I write end up being longer than a short story and I like the complexity one can build up in a novel. I can get an idea that would just add another layer of complexity to the story, and I don’t have to worry about if I have room to fit it.

    As for switching between the two, I find that it is difficult, because I don’t fully understand the true meaning of a short story.

Leave a Reply

