Don’t relay on spell checker

I’m presenting a workshop on Monday about commonly done errors in papers. One of my common errors is relying on spell checker. (Yes, I know. It’s relay on the subject. That was to make a point.) I wanted to give an example of something that works with spell checker, but is not correct, and I happened to find this.

I have a spelling chequer,
It came with my pea sea,
It plainly marks four my revue,
Miss steaks eye kin knot sea.

Eye strike a key an type a word,
And weight four it two say,
Weather eye am wrong oar write,
It shows me strait a weigh.

As soon as a mist ache is maid,
It nose bee fore to long,
And eye can put the error rite,
Its rare lea ever wrong.

Eye have run this poem threw it,
I am shore your pleased two no,
Its letter perfect awl the weigh,
My chequer tolled me sew.

This came from this link and was just too awesome not to share.

If you’re looking for more of these words, they are called homophones.  I will post a more comprehensive list when I get it. (Which looks to be around November 8th)

Tags: ,

About Abigail

I'm an elementary education major at a college in the Midwest. I might graduate as early as December '13 but more likely May '14. I write when I can. I also knit on occasion, draw, do homework and contradict teachers to make people think. :)

Leave a Reply

