New year, new goals

Since this is a new year, and everyone talks about all the new year’s resolutions they are making, the obvious question is:

Have you made any New Year’s resolution concerning your writing?

I haven’t, but as a thought concerning this, I read once that it is better to produce than to spend time. A resolution could be:

I will write for one hour every day.

A better one would be:

I will write five pages a week.

I don’t know about you, but when I get on the computer, even if I want to write, I get on facebook, check that out, check out the stats, check out the weather, and hundreds of other things before I actually start writing. When I do start writing, I’ll sometimes check facebook every couple minutes, or mess with my music, or decide to play music, or any number of other things.

With the second one, I’m committed to writing, no matter how many times I check facebook.

So what about you? What are you doing this year in regards to writing?

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Abigail

I'm an elementary education major at a college in the Midwest. I might graduate as early as December '13 but more likely May '14. I write when I can. I also knit on occasion, draw, do homework and contradict teachers to make people think. :)

4 responses to “New year, new goals”

  1. MarkG says :

    I entirely agree: back when I first started writing movie scripts I’d say ‘well, I’ll write for an hour every day’ and at the end of that hour I’d have less words than I started with because I’d have messed around for forty minutes, spent ten minutes writing a few lines of dialog and then gone back and revised an earlier scene which removed more lines than I added.

    I only actually managed to finish a script when I started saying ‘well, from now on I’m going to write three pages a day’. Of course once it’s done there are still the twenty-seven rewrites before it’s close to being good enough for anyone to look at, but you don’t get to the rewrites if you can’t finish a first draft.

    This year I’m going to do my best to stop reading blogs and actually get a few drafts of a novel finished, or a new draft of a few novels.

    • Abigail says :

      I chucked softly at your resolution, because my reaction is along the lines of, “If you stop reading blogs, then you won’t read mine!” However, I must agree that I should spend more time writing and less time focused on blogs. That page thing though can be very hard.

  2. MarkG says :

    It’s true, though: the Internet is a good place for research, but it’s also a great place to waste a lot of time :). I was much more productive when I only had Internet access at work and could concentrate on writing when I got home.

    I just wandered in here from a Google search because I was looking to see if anyone else was unable to reach critters.org and this was one of the first pages that turned up, but I’ll check back again when I’m taking a break from writing :).

    • Abigail says :

      Me too. Or more correctly, when my computer was so old it couldn’t handle the internet.

      And about Critters, I have not been able to get on there for almost three days. I keep checking, since I thought a story that looked interesting was coming out this week, but I can’t.

Leave a Reply

