The Benefits of Writing Often

If you look at many of the advice and tips that older writers will newer writers about how to write better, they often say that writing often is one of the best things you can do.  But why? What good does  all of this writing have to do for anyone? Here is what I’ve learned in the past years.

The more you write, the more you want to write: This may be one of the first things that someone will notice when he/she begins writing. Part of the reason why we stop writing is because we have writer’s block, so writing more often will mean that we have to get over the writer’s block. Another reason why is because the more I write, the more I get excited about what is coming up to write, so I want to get to that goal of such-and-such a scene.

It’s just like any other type of hobby, you need to practice to do better: I think that getting plot ideas may be a gift, at least as easily as writers tend to get them. However, since I have seen what happens when I take mediocre talent in drawing and continue to improve it, it stands to reason that so long as one can get plots, they can improve enough to be a good writer, so long as they continue to practice.

You learn what works and what doesn’t, for yourself: It’s one thing to read about it in a book. It’s another thing to write it for yourself. I read once that an English teacher once said that no one could write a good story about flying pigs  or a story in second tense. He had several students attempt to do so and although some were creative, none of them really worked out well. Sometimes, just like those students, we need to see that something can’t be done before we agree that he really can’t be done (yet).

You gain more ideas: This seems totally contradictory, doesn’t it? However,  I have found it to be true. The more that I write, the more ideas come to me. So if you’re worried that if you write, you won’t have anything else to write, don’t, because it doesn’t work like that. It’s like your brain is working overtime trying to figure everything out and a few other stories, just in case.

Tags: , ,

About Abigail

I'm an elementary education major at a college in the Midwest. I might graduate as early as December '13 but more likely May '14. I write when I can. I also knit on occasion, draw, do homework and contradict teachers to make people think. :)

One response to “The Benefits of Writing Often”

  1. courtneykane says :

    I have found both blogging and journaling to be a great way to let me write regularly. I find I can get all the fluff out of my head and onto the page and what is left is the clearer, better stuff for my manuscript.

Leave a Reply

