Do not laugh at the science fiction writer.

Science fiction is the most important literature in the history of the world, because it’s the history of ideas, the history of our civilization birthing itself. …Science fiction is central to everything we’ve ever done, and people who make fun of science fiction writers don’t know what they’re talking about.

Ray BradburyBrown Daily Herald, March 24, 1995

I’ve never actually read anything written by Ray Bradbury. (I honestly don’t have the time at the moment.) However, between this and how he defines science fiction, I think he may be very interesting.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Abigail

I'm an elementary education major at a college in the Midwest. I might graduate as early as December '13 but more likely May '14. I write when I can. I also knit on occasion, draw, do homework and contradict teachers to make people think. :)

4 responses to “Do not laugh at the science fiction writer.”

  1. Meaghan says :

    Get thee to the library and make some time for Ray Bradbury!!! Fahrenheit 451 is required reading for all readers (in my opinion) and I also highly suggest Dandelion Wine (which isn’t really sci-fi) The Martian Chronicles, and Something Wicked This Way Comes. You will NOT regret spending time with Bradbury.

    • Abigail says :

      Well, then I actually must correct myself, because I have read Fahrenheit 451 earlier this year. I wanted to read a quick book before school started. However, any more time spent with Bradbury must wait until the end of this semester, since I have almost no time to read anything.

  2. Meaghan says :

    Yeah, I am having the same problem. I go to school full time, and unfortunately I do less reading than writing. Which is a good thing AND a bad thing, if you know what I mean.

  3. Abigail says :

    I know EXACTLY what you mean. School full time here too, so I’m lucky if I get any writing in.

Leave a Reply

